E-mail this article to
yourself or a friend.
Enter address:


ACGA applauds passage of Renewable Fuels Standard

(Friday, June 6, 2003 -- CropChoice news) -- From a news release.

Contact: Larry Mitchell, (202) 835-0330

WASHINGTON - June 6, 2003-The American Corn Growers Association (ACGA) applauds the passage of the Renewable Fuels Standard (RFS) by the U.S. Senate as an essential component of the energy bill now moving through Congress. ACGA President Keith Dittrich, a corn farmer from Tilden, Neb., commended Senate Majority Leader Frist, Senate Minority Leader Daschle, Senator Lugar, and the other 19 cosponsors of the bipartisan proposal for their initiative and leadership in passing the legislation.

"As the debate on energy moves forward in the U.S. Senate, we believe one of the goals of energy independence should be to promote the production of renewable domestic fuels," said Dittrich. "We believe an extraordinary opportunity is at hand to increase energy independence, reduce oil imports, improve our environment and stimulate rural economies."

The new legislation (Amendment 850 to S. 14) passed by a vote of 68 to 28 and mirrors a measure passed last year in the Senate. The establishment of an RFS will capitalize on the nation's growing bio-fuel industry, expanding the use of these domestic, "home-grown" fuels to 5 billion gallons per year by 2012. A similar provision was included in the energy bill passed by the U.S. House of Representatives. ACGA is recommending the adoption of the Senate RFS language in conference as the better of the two versions.

"ACGA fully understands that the initiatives in this bill will greatly benefit America's farm families," said Dittrich. "Requirements for a portion of the nation's motor fuel to come from domestic, renewable bio-based sources will make this nation less dependent on imported oil and will give additional market opportunities and flexibility to farmers of corn, soybeans, and other crops."

Other cosponsors of the bill include Senators Hagel, R-Neb., Johnson, D-S.D., Dorgan, D-N.D., Voinovich, R-Ohio, Conrad, D-N.D., Nelson, D-Neb., Bond, R-Mo., Harkin, D-Iowa, Grassley, R-Iowa, Durbin, D-Ill., Talent, R-Mo., Dayton, D-Minn., Coleman, R-Minn., Inhofe, R-Okla., Edwards, D-N.N, Crapo, R-Idaho, DeWine, R-Ohio, Baucus, D-Mont., and Bunning, R-Ky.

The American Corn Growers Association represents 14,000 members in 35 states. See http://www.acga.org .